Masthead 2020

Department of Mathematical Sciences The Mathematical Sciences News is published yearly by the Department of Mathematical Sciences at Carnegie Mellon University for its students, alumni and friends to inform them about the department and serve as a channel of communication for our community. Readers with comments or questions are urged to send them to the Mathematical Sciences News. The department is headed by Tom Bohman.


Tom Bohman, Department Head


Jocelyn Duffy, Associate Dean for Communications

Contributing Writers

Tom Bohman, Boris Bukh, Dan Carroll, Jocelyn
Duffy, Ben Panko, Emily Payne, Colleen Storm

Publications Managers

Emily Payne, Communications Manager
Rachel Keeney, Publications Manager and Graphic Designer

Photography & Images

Jonah Bayer, Digital Producer
Courtesy of Carnegie Mellon University, unless
otherwise noted

Online Magazine

Gigi Wiltanger, Web Manager


Carnegie Mellon University
Department of Mathematical Sciences
Wean Hall 6113
Pittsburgh, PA 15213

Carnegie Mellon University does not discriminate in admission, employment, or administration of its programs or activities on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, handicap or disability, age, sexual orientation, gender identity, religion, creed, ancestry, belief, veteran status, or genetic information. Furthermore, Carnegie Mellon University does not discriminate and is required not to discriminate in violation of federal, state, or local laws or executive orders.
Inquiries concerning the application of and compliance with this statement should be directed to the university ombudsman, Carnegie Mellon University, 5000 Forbes Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15213, telephone 412-268-1018.
Obtain general information about Carnegie Mellon University by calling 412-268-2000
Produced for the Department of Mathematical Sciences by Marketing & Communications, November, 2018, 19-150.
©2018 Carnegie Mellon University, All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced in any form without written permission from Carnegie Mellon University’s Department of Mathematical Sciences.